

LEGAL COMMITTEE - 36TH SESSION

(Montréal, 30 November – 3 December 2015)

Agenda Item 6: Election of the Vice-Chairmen of the Committee

NOTE ON THE ELECTION

(Presented by the Secretariat)

1. The last election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Committee took place at the end of the 35th Session in May 2013. The list of elected officers was as follows:

Chairman	Vice-Chairmen
Mr. T. Olson (France)	Ms. S.H. Tan (Singapore), First Vice-Chairman
	Mr. A. Piera (United Arab Emirates), Second Vice-Chairman
	Mr. N. Luongo (Argentina), Third Vice-Chairman
	Mrs. H. Hitula (Namibia), Fourth Vice-Chairman

- 2. In accordance with Rule 6 of the *Rules of Procedure of the Legal Committee* (Doc 7669-LC/139/5), the above-mentioned officers would, as a rule, remain in office until the end of the 37th Session. However, the offices of the Second and Fourth Vice-Chairmen are currently vacant.
- 3. Pursuant to paragraphs 2 and 4.1 (2) of LC/36-WP/5-1, the Committee was invited to consider amending Rule 6 of its Rules of Procedure which would, in the event of a vacancy of any of the offices of Chairman or Vice-Chairmen during the term, allow for the advancement of Vice-Chairmen to the precedence higher than their current level for the unexpired portion of the term. In addition, when the office of a Vice-Chairman is vacated during the term which cannot be filled by way of succession, the Committee would elect a Vice-Chairman to the vacant office for the unexpired portion of the term
- 4. Should the Committee decide to amend Rule 6 as described in paragraph (3) above and LC/36-WP/5-1, the Third Vice-Chairman shall become Second Vice-Chairman for the unexpired portion of the current term. It will then be necessary to elect the Third and Fourth Vice-Chairmen at the end of the Session. They shall hold office for the unexpired portion of the term, i.e. until the end of the 37th Session.